Email This Page



Historical Development: Yobe State came into being on the 27th of August,
1991. It was carved out of the old Borno State by the Babangida administration.
The circumstances that led to the splitting of former Borno State into Yobe
and Borno are mainly two fold.

Semi- Arid Vegetation, Potiskum

Arid Vegetation, Potiskum

The former Borno State being one of the largest states in terms of land area,
was simply too large for easy administration and meaningful development; and
ethnic rivalry. A total of nine additional states were created at that time,
bringing the total number of states in the country to thirty from twentyone.
Today, Nigeria is made up of thirtysix states and a Federal Capital Territory.

Administrative Structure: The state is governed by the executive council,
with the Governor as Chairman. The executive council is made up of the Governor,
the Deputy Governor, the Commissioners of the various ministries and the Secretary
to the state government. The ministries are: Agriculture and Natural Resources;
Education; Works, Housing and Transport; Justice; Health; Finance, Economic
Planning, Commerce and Tourism; Women Affairs; Environment; and Social Development,
Cooperatives, Youth and Sports.

Damaturu City Gate

City Gate

There are seventeen local government councils in the state and under the present
setup, each of the LGAs is governed by a local government executive council
with the Local Government Chairman as the head. Other members of the executive
council include: the ViceChairman, four supervisory councillors and the Secretary
of the Local Government who also serves as secretary to the council.

With the introduction of the presidential system of government which emphasises
the separation of powers betwen the three arms, the Honourable Speaker is the
chief executive and accounting officer of the Legislative arm, the state House
of Assembly.

There are also the Deputy Speaker, the majority and minority leaders, Chief
Whips of parties and other honourable members. The administrative head of the
legislature is the Clerk of the House who is also the chief adviser to the Speaker.
The legislative arm of government is also extended to the local government level
where the legislature is headed by the leader of the House.

The Federal Polytechnic, Damaturu

Federal Polytechnic, Damaturu

The third arm of the government is the judiciary which is headed by the Chief
Judge who is also the chairman of the State Judicial Service Committee a body
responsible for the appointment, promotion and discipline of judicial officers.
There is also an indigenous administrative structure at the apex of which is
the Council of Chiefs, made up of Emirs, District Heads, Village Heads and traditional
title holders.

These are vested with the responsibility of ensuring peace, as well as preserving
and promoting the culture and traditions of the people of the state. The Council
also plays advisory role to the state as well as the local government. There
are currently four emirates in Yobe State, namely Bade, Fika, Ngazargamo and
Machina with the titles of first class emirs. The Emir of Fika is the Chairman
of the Council of Chiefs. More emirates are at present being proposed.